Current By-Law:

1. The following shall be admitted to membership in the Association:

Any individual who upholds the objectives of the Association and contributes to the support of the Association in one of the following categories:

Professional CTRS: Voting

Individuals who are Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialists as certified by the National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC). Individuals are required to submit a valid NCTRC certification number.

Professional: Voting

Individuals who have graduated with a diploma/baccalaureate degree in Therapeutic Recreation/Recreation Therapy or in Recreation/Leisure Services with a concentration/major in Therapeutic Recreation.

Affiliate Professional: Voting

Individuals who have been practicing for a substantial period of time (15 years +) with other health related diploma or baccalaureate degree titles or meet the classification criteria as used previously from NSRPH (This category will close to new members in 2025).

Student: Non-Voting

Individuals currently pursuing a diploma, baccalaureate, graduate or post graduate degree in Therapeutic Recreation or Recreation/Leisure Studies/Leisure Services with a concentration/major in Therapeutic Recreation.

Emeritus: Non-Voting

Individuals retired from the field of Therapeutic Recreation.

Supporting Member: Non-Voting

Individuals who do not meet any of the above membership categories but who supports the work of the NSTRA.

Voting	Professional Member (CTRS)	150.00
Voting	Professional Member (Non-CTRS)	75.00
Voting	Affiliate Professional Member	75.00
Non-Voting	Supporting Member	50.00
Non-Voting	Emeritus	50.00
Non-Voting	Student	30.00 (for two years)

FEES: Fees are to be set at annual general meetings and are set for the year 2020 as The membership year will run from September 1st until August 31st.

Motion to amend to include the following:

7. The following shall be admitted to membership in the Association:

Any individual who upholds the objectives of the Association and contributes to the support of the Association in one of the following categories:

Professional CTRS: Voting

Individuals who are Certified Therapeutic Recreation Specialists as certified by the National Council for Therapeutic Recreation Certification (NCTRC). Individuals are required to submit a valid NCTRC certification number.

Professional: Voting

Individuals who have graduated with a diploma/baccalaureate degree in Therapeutic Recreation/Recreation Therapy or in Recreation/Leisure Services with a concentration/major in Therapeutic Recreation.

Affiliate Professional: Voting

Individuals who have been practicing in the field of Recreation Therapy/Therapeutic Recreation or in Recreation/Leisure Services for a substantial period of time (15 years +) with other health related diploma or baccalaureate degree titles or meet the classification criteria as used previously from NSRPH, and were members at the time of NSRPH dissolution. (This category will close to new members in 2025).

Student: Non-Voting

Individuals currently pursuing a diploma, baccalaureate, graduate or post graduate degree in Therapeutic Recreation or Recreation/Leisure Studies/Leisure Services with a concentration/major in Therapeutic Recreation.

Emeritus: Non-Voting

Individuals retired from the field of Therapeutic Recreation.

Supporting Member: Non-Voting

Individuals who do not meet any of the above membership categories but who supports the work of the NSTRA.

Voting	Professional Member (CTRS)	150.00
Voting	Professional Member (Non-CTRS)	75.00
Voting	Affiliate Professional Member	75.00
Non-Voting	Supporting Member	50.00
Non-Voting	Emeritus	50.00
Non-Voting	Student	30.00 (for two years)

FEES: Fees are to be set at annual general meetings and are set for the year 2020 as The membership year will run from September 1st until August 31st.

Rationale: This motion was tabled at the 2020 AGM. This by-law edit will create greater clarity around the Affiliate Professional category. Individuals who are Affiliate Professional

members before the 2025 membership year will be able to remain as Affiliate Professional members but it would close to new members.

Current By-Law:

- 31. The Board of Directors shall consist of the persons elected or appointed by the Members to the following positions:
 - a. President
 - b. Past President
 - c. President Elect
 - d. Recording Officer
 - e. Treasurer
 - f. Six (6) Regional Representatives
 - g. Communications Director
 - h. Membership Director
 - i. Two (2) Student Director (1 TR Baccalaureate/Masters [Dalhousie University] and 1 TR Diploma [NSCC]).

Motion to amend to include the following:

- 31. The Board of Directors shall consist of the persons elected or appointed by the Members to the following positions:
 - a. President
 - b. Past President
 - c. President Elect
 - d. Recording Officer
 - e. Treasurer
 - f. Six (6) Regional Representatives
 - g. Communications Director
 - h. Membership Director
 - i. Two (2) Student Director (1 TR Baccalaureate/Masters [Dalhousie University] and 1 TR Diploma [NSCC]). The student director positions shall be appointed by the Board of Directors upon the results of an all members vote.

Rationale: The purpose of this amendment would be to allow student members to be able to vote for the student representative. This edit would have to be approved by the registry of joint stocks if it is approved by members.

New By-Law:

75. No donations of association funds shall be made to, or on behalf of a member, of the association.

Rationale: We have had motions brought to the Board of Directors to support members on compassionate grounds (Death of a spouse, Illness of a child). After consultation with an employee of the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) we have learned that this practice should be avoided to prevent "undue benefit".